- Related Webpages
To expand and collapse the navigation please click on the headingsGo to other Related Subject areas
Franciscan friary, Bridgnorth
The friary site
The friary was set up in 1244 on the west bank of the River Severn between the river and Friar Street. In 1272 the site was enlarged by reclaiming land from the river bank by means of backfilling behind an enclosure wall with stones and rubbish.
A poor house
It was always a relatively poor house but it did have some important benefactors including Nicholas of Pitchford and the Higford family. The friary received rent from two small crofts but their main income came from the services they held in the chapel of St Syth which stood on the bridge.
The friars seem to have closely observed their vows of poverty right through to the dissolution in 1538 when only the bare necessities of life were found and not even bedding, whereas all that was needed for divine service were there.
After the friary
After the reformation the refectory with its oak-panelled ceiling, stone fireplace and stone pulpit was used as an alehouse. This was demolished in 1856 to build a carpet factory which in turn was removed in the late twentieth century when the remains were excavated and displayed. Some of the objects discovered can be seen by clicking on the "Albums" tab on this web page.